What Is Minimum Wage In Florida - You may have heard that Florida's minimum wage will be up to $15 an hour, and that's true. However, it will not improve immediately.
Instead, Florida's minimum wage will increase by one dollar a year until it reaches $15 in 2026. Florida voters decided this in 2020 through Amendment 2 to the state constitution. What does this mean to you?
What Is Minimum Wage In Florida
Effective September 30, 2022, Florida's minimum wage is $11/hour for non-tipped workers and $7.98/hour for tipped workers - as the rest is considered tipped.
Federal $15 Minimum Wage Looks Increasingly Likely After Florida Vote
Florida's minimum wage will continue to increase until it reaches $15.00 per hour in 2026 for standard workers and $11.98 for tipped workers. Here is the full schedule:
Because Florida adheres to the federal "one and a half time" overtime policy, the overtime rate is $16.50 per hour for standard workers and $13.48 per hour for tipped workers effective September 30, 2022.
Overtime rates are applied to working hours after the employee has reached 40 hours per week. Here's the full schedule of upgrades:
Starting from 2027, the state will return to using the inflation rate to adjust the minimum wage. The Department of Economic Opportunity will use the Consumer Price Index for City Workers and Clerical Workers to determine future minimum wage increases.
Why Florida's New $15 Minimum Wage Is A Big Deal
That said, Florida law requires state governments to post changes and effective dates on their website by October 15 of each year. These changes can be found on the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity or Department of Revenue websites.
You can also add yourself to the state's Rehiring Assistance database if you want to receive written notification of changes. The state must submit them by November 15 each year.
Now that you know about the 2022 minimum wage changes, let's see how much a full-time minimum wage salary will earn in Florida when the rate increases.
Florida does not have a state income tax, but you still have to withhold a portion of each employee's salary for federal income tax and FICA tax (Medicare and Social Security taxes).
Midyear 2022 State And Major Locality Minimum Wage Increases
If you offer benefits such as a retirement plan or health insurance, you must also deduct these voluntary contributions from the employee's gross pay each time you maintain payroll.
Keeping track of these mandatory and voluntary deductions can be a hassle. payroll software automatically calculates salary deductions and employee expenses to make your life easier.
You can use the minimum wage calculator to see how much part-time or overtime workers are paid.
Florida is one of 25 states that plan to raise the minimum wage by 2022. Here are the others:
Minimum Wage In The United States
Now that we've answered your questions, let's take a look at what's to come in the coming years.
The federal minimum wage is set by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) at $7.25 per hour for non-exempt covered workers. This rate only applies to states that do not have their own minimum wage (Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee).
If you're an employer in Florida, you can't choose which level you want to use. You always have to pay a higher minimum wage, which - in this case - the situation.
However, some types of workers are exempt from the minimum wage depending on factors such as age or student status.
Minimum Wage Set To Increase In Florida, New Amendment Aims To Raise Wages To $15 An Hour
The minimum wage does not apply to all workers. Florida has several exceptions and sub-minimum wage categories that allow people to be paid less than the minimum wage.
According to the FLSA, new employees under the age of 20 can be paid $4.25 for the first 90 days, which is considered a training period. These 90 days start from the first day of your work and you have to pay them your normal rate after that.
Florida also follows FLSA guidelines that allow some employers, such as those in vocational degree programs, to pay students less than minimum wage. Lower rates apply to full-time secondary school students and part-time students.
You can pay them 85% of the current minimum wage (at least $9.35 if the minimum wage was $11.00) for up to 20 hours a week.
A $15 Minimum Wage Will Boost Ohio
The Federal Fair Labor Standards Act also contains rules for compensation in the student program. If you hire a high school student over the age of 16 who is in a "shop course" (vocational vocational course or trade school), they can be paid 75% of the minimum wage ($8.25 if the minimum wage is $11.00). while still in the program.
If you have tipped employees (people who make more than $30 a month in tips), such as waiters or bartenders, you can pay the minimum tip rate. In Florida, you can get a tip of $3.02. This means that the tipped minimum wage is the regular rate minus $3.02.
However, the employee's total wage must be at least equal to what he would earn if he earned the minimum wage.
For example, suppose you have a waiter named Josh who is paid every two weeks. He works 60 hours in two weeks.
Should Florida's Minimum Wage Be Raised To $15?
If the minimum wage is $11.00, his total salary (what you pay + his tips) must be at least $660.00 (which he will earn if you pay the full minimum wage).
So, if you pay him $7.98 an hour, that's a total of $487.80. Josh must earn at least $181.20 in tips during these two weeks. If he doesn't, you have to make up the difference so he gets minimum wage.
Florida follows FLSA guidelines for employees with disabilities. Federal law says you can pay disabled workers below minimum wage (less than minimum wage) if you have a below minimum wage certificate for disabled workers. The government does this to ensure that people with disabilities can find work.
If you want to apply for a certificate, you can call the U.S. The Wage and Hour Department at (312) 353-3809 or send an email to:
Florida Votes To Increase Minimum Wage And Reduce Statewide Poverty
As a Florida employer, it is your responsibility to prominently post federal and Florida job posters in your workplace.
And if you pay your employees less than minimum wage – assuming you forgot to update your salary information after the September 30 deadline – your employees have the right to claim unpaid minimum wage (including unpaid overtime) through a civil action in court.
Workers who want to claim wages must notify you in writing before filing a claim. The notice must include the date of work, hours and the total amount of unpaid wages.
As an employer, you have a safe harbor period of 15 days after receiving a wage notice before a claim can be filed in court. After 15 days, the employee can go to court.
Florida Voters Lift Minimum Wage To $15 An Hour
As an employer, you want to do the right thing by the people who work for you. But if the compensation law changes, it may be difficult to keep up. Now that you know about Florida's minimum wage increase, be sure to mark your paycheck calendar for the first time.
Florida residents will likely vote in 2020 to increase Florida's minimum wage by 77%. Don't be fooled. It will hurt all Floridians - job losses, fewer services, higher prices.
The 2020 general election is just over a year away, and while many of us are tired of the Democratic presidential candidate, it's never too early to start raising awareness about an issue that will seriously damage millions of Floridians if it passes.
Florida's Minimum Wage To Jump To $10 Per Hour This Week
As of October 29, of the 25 constitutional amendments submitted to the Florida Department of State for the 2020 election, the minimum wage amendment committee had 766,058 valid voter signatures. They need 142 more signatures for the measure to reach the ballot threshold. The deadline to secure 766,200 signatures is February 1, 2020.
Most likely, this measure will be put to a statewide vote. And while that may not be the case now, Florida restaurant and hotel owners are concerned about the devastating economic consequences that will follow if the amendment passes. The Florida Restaurant & Lodging Association isn't the only one worried. He said passing the measure would "destroy the hotel industry".
Now those in favor of a mandatory minimum wage of $15 an hour can mock restaurant and hotel owners by saying that their objections are predictable. It's a shame if these higher costs are eating into their profits. That's just greed, say some $15-per-hour proponents.
But people who advocate uplift
Election 2020: Florida Joins Growing List Of States Moving To $15 Minimum Wage
What is minimum wage in ohio, what is the minimum wage in texas, what is minimum wage in canada, what is minimum wage in alberta, what is the minimum wage in ontario, what is minimum wage in pa, what is the minimum wage in us, what is minimum wage in nc, minimum wage in florida, what is the minimum wage in illinois, what is minimum wage in washington, what is minimum wage in california